Air Doll – A Movie on Par with Densha Otoko

Ok, so I decided to do a write up on this movie. Let’s get this out of the way 1st. It’s not the fact that she’s a blowup sexdoll, so get the childish giggling out of the way with now ok? We done yet? Good, now let’s get to the seriousness of the movie, shall we?

This is the story of Nozomui, a doll created by a Doll Master of a fashion, who gives her a soul thru his work. Afterwards, she becomes Hideo’s (Middle aged Otaku) partner. She after awhile decided to go out into the city while Hideo-san is at work and while during these little ventures in the city she comes across people who share the same type of thoughts she does. Am I just an empty vessel to help fill the void of who was supposed to be where I am now?

She also discovers love, the truth behind, and other insights that we normally take for granted. I have only watched the clips of this movie that was presented at the 2009 Cannes Festival, but I’ve been an anime/manga/pc/game/rpg Otaku for 34 yrs and married for 15 yrs. (God bless my wife for putting up with me lol).

I can see JUST by watching the clips reading some of the articles out there as well? this is one of those movies that will indeed be not only entertaining but also quite moving as well. More can be found here at the website itself kuuki-ningyo/Air Doll the Movie. I do hope there will be some serious commentary on this rather than just “Oh hahah sex doll OMGWTHBBQ” crap that seems to be out there in droves.

