Stargate / Star trek and overall Awesome Composer Joel Goldsmith Dead @ 54

It is with terrible saddness that I report and post that Mr. Joel Goldsmith, famed composer for both “Star Trek” and “Stargate,” beamed out of this reality and unto the next realm and adventure, he had been dealing blows against cancer for some time now and Saturday 4/28/12 was the day that battle was lost. He passed away at 54.

Though he got his start scoring some classic  cult sci-fi/horror films such as  “The Man With Two Brains”. Being the son of Oscar-winning composer Jerry Goldsmith followed his fathers footsetps and his career  in television. Joel went on to score 350+ esp. of various “Stargate” series and contributed over 20 minutes of musical assets in “Star Trek: First Contact,”.

Goldsmith was a three-time Emmy nominee. First nominated in 1998 for “Stargate SG-1,” he was also nominated in 2005 for the main theme for “Stargate Atlantis” and in 2006 for “Stargate Atlantis: Grace Under Pressure.”

Fellow composer Neal Acree, who worked with Goldsmith on “Stargate” released a statement on his friend’s passing:

I’m utterly heartbroken at the loss of my dear friend and mentor Joel Goldsmith. He was like a second father to me and I feel like I owe much of my career to the opportunities he gave me including my first feature film and first experience scoring television. His influence on my life, both personally and musically, will stay with me always.”

My Condolences  go out to Mr. Goldsmith’s family, and friends and fans, we have lost another great in the music industry. He will however be remembered in our hearts thru his music, the television shows he helped give birth to and recently his involvement in Call of Duty 3 where his musical talents were created and placed as well. God speed Joel Goldsmith, may the heavens open their gates and welcome you .

End of Transmission.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: the work from home mastermind review
  2. Pingback: kredit credit finanz visa master gold card
  3. koawk · May 15, 2012

    Stargate / Star trek and overall Awesome Composer Joel Goldsmith Dead @ 54 Madarame's Blog of Daily routines and Peevs Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Comments are closed.