Production I.G Announces New Ghost in the Shell Series.

In the Feb. issue of Kodansha’s Monthly Young Magazine is a full-text page layout announcing the return of the Ghost in the Shell and our loving Major Motoko Kusanagi to the media again. This is what has been rumored and what fact is.

This series is entitled “Arise”, it is a series, and will be on TV. The changes up however will that Kazuchika Kise, the animation director for the first Evangelion movie and Blood+ is to be the head director. Also after checking resources it is also come to my attention that Tow Ubakata, writer of Le Chevalier D’Eon, Mardock Scramble is the scriptwriter for the new series. On a side note, does she look younger in this series? Looks like a cyberntic shell of a 20’ish type of Motoko doesn’t it? Or is it just me?

makoto-kusanagi-gits-arise

I loved the Stand alone Complex series as well as the GiTs movies, the first one especially. I love a good a cybernetic police force scenario and decent casting for the characters, lead and supporting. I’m hoping that we’ll get a preview clip of “Arise” here in February, but only time will tell on that one. I am looking forward to this series when it does come out though. I suspect a late Summer start on this unless it will be a Q4 release of the 2013 lineup, which is a possibility.

