Roughly 13 hours We lost another Manga / Anime Industry Icon

Untitled

Well, I’m still taken back by the fact that Toren Smith, known Translator of Manga of which the fans will automatically know of such titles as Ghost in the Shell, Orion, Outlanders, Dagger of Kumi, He and Adam Warren they worked together on Lovely Angels AKA “The Dirty PairDominion Tank Police. The list could go on for a while. This is the man that Founded and Created Studio Proteus which is operating now days under the Dark Horse Publication Flag but was The company that brought Orion to the US Graphic Novel/Manga Stands in the US.

I heard about late last night around 11 and dropped my Mt. Dew on the floor along with myself as Trish Ledoux posted the news of Toren’s passing. “Toren was not only one of the earliest of us to understand the power and beauty of manga, but he was one of the most well-spoken, erudite, and nicest among we old-school American/Canadian anime and manga fans, too. He was immortalized in “Otaku no Video” for a reason” He was also Immortalized in the 3 part OVA Series “Gunbuster” as Smith Toren.

I was hoping for a chance to meet with him before I passed on, myself. Anyways, very disheartening news I for one admire his work in the industry and my hat is off to him. Aim for the top and never look below!

RIP
Toren Smith
Friend to all Otaku
Founder of Studio Proteus
Translator of Various Manga
April 12th 1960 – March 6th 2013

